Predator & Prey (wolf & squirrel)

826NYC
2 min readNov 2, 2020

--

by Nico, Paulette, Zoe, Morgan

W: Hello, squirrel.

S: Go away.

W: Aren’t we a pearl. Why do you pray?

S: If you’re going to attack, then please just make it fast.

W: Attack? What’s this new theory? …What? Just a query.

S: We all know you’re a fiend. I’m not getting closer except in your dreams.

Chorus

S: You say that you won’t eat me, but I think you’re trying to cheat me!

W: I’ve been taking a class about meat. Turns out it’s not so neat. It’s vegetables that you should eat. Delectable and hard to beat.

S: Why do I find that hard to believe? If you don’t mind, I’m going to leave.

W: Hey, wait up! I just want to chat!

S: Just how did you get to be that fat?

W: I told you, I’m eating my veggies!

S: Or perhaps my dear friend Reggie.

W: Who’s that?

S: He was felled by your kind’s claws.

W: And?

S: It’s enough to give me pause.

W: That’s wolfish. I’m not like them.

S: But your appetite is hard to hem.

W: What, you’re stalking now?

S: Well it’s not like I don’t know-how.

W: So you’ve seen me eating carrots!

S: I saw you eating parrots.

Chorus

S: You say that you won’t eat me, but I think you’re trying to cheat me!

W: Okay fine, you’re right, you win. Vegetables were never in.

S: Right, goodbye then wolf.

Chorus (modified)

S: You said you wouldn’t eat me, but you were trying to cheat me!

W: I swear I learned that meat is not so neat. My veggies are all I like to eat

--

--