Two Years Ago on Thanksgiving

826NYC
1 min readNov 24, 2020

--

by Devin Adam, age 12

Two years ago, on Thanksgiving, I went to Long Island with my sister, my dad, and my mom. We went to my aunt’s house. It was the best Thanksgiving meal I ever had. The best thing I ate was the chicken. The chicken skin was crisp. The chicken was tender and drenched in gravy. My aunt made the chicken. There were about ten people at my aunt’s house, including my cousins, my sister, my dad, and my mom. We ate at the dining table.

My aunt made all the food. She made mac and cheese, mashed potatoes, corn, collard greens, yams, ham, cornbread. The best part was the chicken. This was the best Thanksgiving meal I ever had.

“Two Years Ago on Thanksgiving” was published in There is Always a Plate of Chicken Fried Rice Waiting for Me by the students in PS/MS 7’s Writers’ Room. Making a donation and help support 826NYC’s young authors as they harness the power of transformation through creative writing.

To receive notices about opportunities for your child, sign up for our youth writing opportunities newsletter.

--

--